The participation and contribution of students are important parts of each AEA annual meeting. A number of student-oriented services and activities will be offered in conjunction with this year's meeting in Atlanta, GA.

VOLUNTEERING AND DISCOUNTED HOTEL ROOMS Volunteering at the conference is a great way to meet other student-colleagues as well as a range of conference attendees! By volunteering, you will be eligible to receive a free conference registration OR a discounted room at the conference hotel. Volunteers are full-time students who serve ONE 4-5 hour shift at the conference. AEA cannot run its conference without volunteers and we are thankful to all of those who step forward. What's in it for you?

1. You may receive a free conference registration if you are local to the Atlanta area.

OR

2.  You may receive a discounted hotel room rate of  $89.50 for a single or $102 for a double at the conference headquarters hotel. This is half-off of the $204 double rate offered for the conference. There are a limited number of discounted rooms.  

 

To sign up to volunteer, send an email to Heidi in the AEA office at Heidi@eval.org In your email, include:

A. The name of the college/university at which you are enrolled full-time.

B. Your first and second choice slots for volunteering (indicate the Day, time and position - see below).

C. Your preferred orientation session (see below).

D. Whether you would prefer a waived registration fee or a discounted hotel room.

E. If you request a discounted hotel room, please let us know if you prefer a single room OR if you will be sharing a room and send the  names of the student(s) with whom you will be sharing the room with. 

***Please note that all students signed up to receive a discounted hotel room must make their hotel reservations immediately upon receiving confirmation from the AEA office and need to complete their conference registration immediately. We do not want to reserve volunteer spaces for those who ultimately do not attend the meeting.  

Within 2 working days, Heidi will confirm your volunteer slot and provide you with information on how to register for free or secure your discounted hotel room. 

Thank you all!

 

ORIENTATION: All volunteers, with the exception of those working shifts on Monday or Tuesday, who will be working at the registration desk or the  job bank (including the Recruitment Fair), must attend a 20-minute orientation meeting prior to their shift. Orientation sessions will be held at the following times:

A. Tuesday, November 2, from 7:30 pm to 7:50 pm
B. Wednesday, November 3,  from 6:10 pm to 6:30 pm 
C. Thursday, November 4, from 7:30 am to 7:50 am
D. Friday, November 5, from 7:30 am to 7:50 am

 

RETURNING VOLUNTEERS: We are working to implement a tiered volunteer model so that students who have volunteered before take on increasing responsibility - with appropriate training and oversight - in order to create a pipeline for the AEA leaders for tomorrow. If you have volunteered before and would like to take on more responsibility and learn more about AEA, please send Heidi an email at heidi@eval.org and we can tell you about some of the alternate volunteer opportunities available to you.

STUDENT VOLUNTEER TIMESLOTS  

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 31, 2004 (no orientation session needed)

1. 8:00 am to 12:00 pm Tech/Copying Support   Caroline Bailey / caroline.j.bailey@orcmacro.com

2. 8:00 am to 12:00 pm Tech/Copying Support  Heidi Brown / dfx3@cdc.gov

3. 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm Setup   Anika Keens-Douglas / AnikaIona@aol.com

4. 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm Setup   Cady Berkel / cady@uga.edu 

These four  people will be responsible for initial setup of the onsite computers, printers, and copiers. These machines are not networked and parts are well-labeled, but those signing up for these spaces should be technologically literate and ready to troubleshoot. We'll also be doing a bunch of the short-run copying in preparation for the conference once the copier is set up. Finally, during the later timeslot from 4-8, we'll be getting materials ready for the workshops the next morning.

 

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2004 (no orientation session needed)

1   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration      Nathan Brown / nobrown@hotmail.com

2   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration      Kamilah A Jones / BAMSWNEXT@aol.com

3   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration     Felicia Tuggle / felicia1172@bellsouth.net  

4   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration     Meltem Alemdar / epsmaax@langate.gsu.edu

5   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         ___________________________________

6   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         ___________________________________

7   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Lorena Muńoz / lmunoz@usc.edu

8   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Cindy M Casebeer / ccasebee@bamaed.ua.edu

9   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Celeste Frazier / myceya@hotmail.com

10   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*       Didi Fahey / mfahey@columbus.rr.com

11   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*       Artje Barabasch / jetweg@web.de

12   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*        Michel Dognon / mdognon@juno.com

13   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*        Pamela Walsh / walshmgmt@comcast.net

14   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Liya Aklilu / laklilu@yahoo.com

15   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Chantal Poister Tusher / cpoister@student.gsu.edu

16   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*        Angela Mooss / amooss@hotmail.com

17   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Kim Broomfield / psykabx@langate.gsu.edu

18   4:30 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup*         Adam Darnell / darnelladam@hotmail.com

*Note that setup runs until 9:00 pm at the latest - we are hoping that with a large group of volunteers, we will be done earlier. Setup involves everything from preparing nametags to stuffing packets to blowing up balloons to creating information boards - whatever needs to be done to make this a great event!

 

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 2, 2004 (no orientation session needed)

1    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup    Carla Forrest / Carla_Forrest@Earthlink.Net

2    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup    Dowsen Sango / dowsen@webmail.co.za

3    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup    Jerris Raiford / jraiford1@student.gsu.edu

4    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup    Mickey Washburn / mickeyw2080@yahoo.com

5   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup     _______________________________

6   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup    Jason Adkins / twentyfive33@hotmail.com

7   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup    Sonja Evensen / evensens@prel.org

8   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup    Cindy Kronauge / kron@frii.com

9   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup     Laura Massell / lmassell@uvm.edu

10   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup    Roshni Menon / roshni@Ag.arizona.edu

11   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup   Anne Rauscher / rausche8@msu.edu

12   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup   Trinidad Molina Villegas / tmolina@uiuc.edu

13   3:15 pm to 7:45 pm    Registration/setup   Tanya Brown / jaderunner_98@yahoo.com

 

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 3, 2004

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration     Stephen Confer / Stephen.Confer@neighbor.org

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration      filled

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration      Muhammed Liman / aedbes2@iway.na

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration      Warren Jones / wjones@cahs.colostate.edu

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration      Elena Polush / elenap@iastate.edu

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration      Michelle M Chandrasekhar / MChandrasekhar@oddl.fsu.edu

7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration     Tamara Bertrand / TBertrand@admin.fsu.edu

8  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration     Xuejin Lu / xuejin8@yahoo.com

9  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration     Donghai Xie / xdhai@hotmail.com

10  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration    _____________________________

11  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration     Stacie Stoutt / serioussistah08@yahoo.com

12  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration     Trenekka Chaney / tczphib@msn.com

13   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration    Alicia Wells / aliciawells1280@msn.com

14   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration     Shakira Kennedy  /  ninkira@hotmail.com

15   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration      Andridia Mapson / amapson@utk.edu

16   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration      _____________________________

17   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration      Michelle Weber / rfweber@worldnet.att.net

18   3:45 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration      Bee Frazier / bmf6925@garnet.acns.fsu.edu 

19   3:45 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration     Monique Liddle / mliddle@indiana.edu 

20  7:00 am to 10:15 am  Job Bank            Renee Lemons 

21  7:00 am to 10:15 am  Job Bank             Jen Nolan / jan36@cornell.edu

22   10:00 am to 1:15 pm  Job Bank            Maurice Samuels / msamuels@uiuc.edu  

23   10:00 am to 1:15 pm  Job Bank           Dhira Crunkilton / dcrunkil@uga.edu

24   1:00 pm to 4:15 pm  Job Bank             Stephanie Reich / stephanie.m.reich@vanderbilt.edu

25   1:00 pm to 4:15 pm  Job Bank             Xiaofan Cai / xiaofan.cai@wmich.edu

26   4:00 pm to 7:00 pm  Job Bank             _________________________________

27   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Infofair Gopher   Andrea Lewis / writetodre@hotmail.com

24  6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer     Debbie Bond-Hu / dbond@teachmetech.com

25  6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer     Mary McEathron / mceat001@umn.edu

26 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm  roundtable host   Randi Nelson / palmfam@comcast.net

 

THURSDAY, FRIDAY, and SATURDAY MORNINGS 

1. 7:30 am to 8:15* am Plenary Greeter       Jillian J. Harrigan / Jillian.Harrigan@castleton.edu

2. 7:30 am to 8:15* am Plenary Greeter       I-Chia Chao / ichia@dolphin.upenn.edu

3. 7:30 am to 8:15* am Plenary Greeter      John LaVelle / john.lavelle@cgu.edu

4. 7:30 am to 8:15* am Plenary Greeter      Elizabeth Yuanjing Xue / xuex0026@umn.edu

*Please note that this slot is for ALL THREE mornings - you must attend and greet at all three plenaries, and do need to sign up for an orientation time. The plenary greeters will welcome attendees to the morning sessions and will distribute the day's update newletter. Students serving in this slot will be able to attend the plenaries, but will end up sitting in the back and will be the last seated.

 

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2004

7:00 am to 10:45 am  Registration      ____________________________

7:00 am to 10:45 am  Registration      Shanika L  Blanton / sblant1@uic.edu

7:00 am to 10:45 am  Registration      Cecilia Rios Aguilar / craeduca@hotmail.com

7:00 am to 10:45 am  Registration      Ebony M Dill / Dill_Ebony@cdph.org

7:00 am to 10:45 am  Registration      Tosha L Ellis  / telltee@yahoo.com

6  10:30 am to 2:15 pm  Registration     Ruth Bowman / bowmandc@msn.com

10:30 am to 2:15 pm  Registration     Shaza Khan / shaza81@yahoo.com

8   10:30 am to 2:15 pm  Registration      Kerry Kennedy / ra2@communityresearchpartners.org

9   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm    Registration     _________________________________

10   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm    Registration   Jiang Ru / jru@stanford.edu

11   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm    Registration   Jon W McKenzie / jonm@mail.wsu.edu

12   7:00 am to 10:45 am  Job Bank          John Risley  / john.risley@wmich.edu

13   7:00 am to 10:45 am  Job Bank          Lynetta Cleveland / lynetta@iastate.edu

14   10:30 am to 2:15 pm  Job Bank          Bianca Wilson / biancaw@uic.edu

15   10:30 am to 2:15 pm  Job Bank          Carrie Cate-Clements / ccatecle@iun.edu

16   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm  Job Bank            Karen Febey / febe0001@umn.edu

17   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm  Job Bank            Don Glass / glassd@hse.pg.wits.ac.za

18   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Poster Gopher   Andrea Lewis /  writetodre@hotmail.com

18   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Poster Gopher   Renee Nolan / rnolan@cc.usu.edu

19  6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer   Boris Volkov / vok0057@umn.edu

20  6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer   Elena Volkova / vok0057@umn.edu

 

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2004    

1   7:30 am to 10:45 am  Registration        Kaori Kusayanagi / kusa0007@umn.edu

2   7:30 am to 10:45 am  Registration        Kimberly D Farris / kfarris@mail.utexas.edu

3  10:30 am to 1:45 pm  Registration         Aimee Williamson / aimeewilliamson@comcast.net

4   10:30 am to 1:45 pm  Registration        Christina Medina  / christina_a_medina@hotmail.com

5   11:15 am to 3:15 pm  Registration         Shu-Huei Cheng / chen0777@umn.edu

6   1:30 pm to 4:45 pm Registration            Sheila Hyland / Sheila.Hyland@castleton.edu

7   1:30 pm to 4:45 pm Registration           Valarie Schamper / Valarie.Schamper@castleton.edu

8   7:30 am to 11:30 am Job Bank               Aisha K Tucker-Brown / aktb@bellsouth.net

9   7:30 am to 11:30 am Job Bank               Colleen Doyle / cold21@rochester.rr.com

10   11:00 am to 3:00 pm Job Bank             Patrick Serumola / pserumol@mailbox.syr.edu

11   11:00 am to 3:00 pm Job Bank             Hamida Amirali Jinnah / hamidajinn@yahoo.com

12   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm Job Bank                Judah Viola / jviola1@depaul.edu

13   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm Job Bank                Rebecca Glover Kudon / rebglover@yahoo.com

14   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Auction Gopher    Tania Rempert / trempert@uiuc.edu

15   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Auction Gopher    Thomaz Chianca / thomaz.chianca@wkkf.org

16   6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer      Jenny Post / JPost9697@aol.com

17   6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer      Lija Greenseid / gree0573@umn.edu 

 

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 6, 2004

1  7:30 am to 10:45 am  Registration                   filled

2  7:30 am to 10:45 am  Registration                   Kelli Wood / kelli.jackson@choicepointinc.com
3  7:30 am to 10:45 am  Registration                   
Danielle Davis / djdavis1@uiuc.edu

10:15 am to 1:30 pm   Registration/Pack up   Ashaki Jackson / ashaki.jackson@cgu.edu

10:15 am to 1:30 pm   Registration/Pack up   Erin M Reeves / ereeve1@uic.edu

6  2:00 pm to 5:30 pm   Registration/Pack up     Yiyan Wu / paggie_yi@yahoo.com.cn

7  2:00 pm to 5:30 pm   Registration/Pack up     Janelle Bailey / jbailey@as.arizona.edu

7:30 am to 10:45 am Job Bank                          Deborah Obara / obarad@unlv.nevada.edu

9  7:30 am to 10:45 am  Job Bank                          Karen Reid / reidk2@unlv.nevada.edu

10 10:15 am to 1:30 pm  Job Bank                        Ariana Brooks / ariana.brooks@cgu.edu

11 10:15 am to 1:30 pm  Job Bank                         Jie (Jeremy) Zhang / jzhang08@syr.edu

11  8:30 am to 11:30 am   Recruitment Fair          Latoya Grandy / latoya_grandy2002@yahoo.com

12  8:30 am to 11:30 am   Recruitment Fair          Lyn Paleo / paleo@igc.org

13  10:30 am to 2:00 pm   Recruitment Fair          Patty Emord  / pattye@spinn.net

 

SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2004

1  8:00 am to 11:00 am  Registration       Darral Brown / darralb423@yahoo.com

 

OTHERS

1  International Liaison             Mandana Hashemzadeh / mandana.hashemzadeh@cgu.edu
Student Evaluation Team    
Katherine E. McDonald / kmcdon3@uic.edu
Student Evaluation Team     Tina Taylor Ritzler / tritzler@uic.edu
Student Evaluation Team     Gillian E. Mason / gmason2@uic.edu
Student Evaluation Team     Jennifer Watling Neal /jwatli1@uic.edu
Student Evaluation Team     Manolya F. Tanyu / mtanyu1@uic.edu

 

STUDENT EVALUATORS:  Please note that the submission deadline has passed - this information is posted for informational purposes only. Each year, a team of students conducts the conference evaluation. A stipend of up to $5000 is available to the team to reimburse travel expenses as well as expenses associated with the evaluation. The team is selected competitively from among those replying to an RFP and the deadline for response is March 1, 2004. Click here to access the submission guidelines.

 

AEA STUDENT TRAVEL AWARDS: Please note that the submission deadline has passed - this information is posted for informational purposes only. We are pleased to offer the most extensive travel award program ever for the American Evaluation Association thanks to the generosity of donations from The Evaluators’ Institute and professional development speaker’s fees. The Association awards two types of student travel awards, each with its own criteria and submission process.    

 

TYPE I AWARDS: Up to nine $500 travel awards will be given students whose conference presentations best reflect the Presidential Strand theme of “Fundamental Issues in Evaluation.” These scholarships are open to all full-time graduate students. Winners will present their work as part of the regular conference program.  

 

THE APPLICATION AND SUBMISSION PROCESS FOR TYPE I AWARDS: Students should submit their proposals to the appropriate TIG or Conference Committee, checking the box on the application indicating they wish to be considered for a Type I Student Travel Award. The student should then send an email to office@eval.org including a) a heading stating “Submission for Type I Travel Award,” b) your full contact information including name, postal address, email address, work and home phone, and the school at which are are enrolled full time, and c) a statement (250-500 words maximum) explaining how your presentation will address an important fundamental issue in evaluation. Applications for a Type I Award will not be considered unless this complete email statement is received, along with the online proposal, by March 12, 2004.  

TYPE II AWARDS: Up to five $500 travel awards are available to students identifying ways to increase the racial/ethnic diversity of people entering the field of evaluation and/or ways to increase the multicultural competencies of all evaluators. All students may compete for these scholarships; however, special consideration will be given to students who themselves will increase the racial/ethnic diversity of presenters at the conference. Winning proposals will be presented during a special session sponsored by the Minority Issues TIG. Proposals that do not win will be reviewed as part of the general pool of proposal submissions.  

THE APPLICATION AND SUBMISSION PROCESS FOR TYPE II AWARDS: 1. Send an emailed cover letter to Imelda Castaneda-Emenaker at imelda.castaneda@uc.edu. In the body of your email, note “Submission for Type II Student Travel Awards” and indicate your racial or ethnic background, and the title of the proposal you intend to submit. Questions may be directed to Dr. Castaneda-Emenaker via email or via phone at (513) 556-3816. 2. Submit the proposal itself by the March 12, 2004 deadline using the regular conference proposal submission guidelines. Select “Minority Issues TIG” as the group to review your proposal. Only proposals that focus on the issues stated above will be considered.