The participation and contribution of students are an important part of each AEA annual meeting. A number of student-oriented services and activities will be offered in conjunction with this year's meeting in Reno, NV.

VOLUNTEERING AND DISCOUNTED HOTEL ROOMS :  Volunteering at the conference is a great way to meet other student-colleagues as well as a range of conference attendees! You need to volunteer for ONE 4-5 hour shift as indicated in the list below. What is in it for you?

1. You will receive an invitation to a special session new this year and held ONLY for student volunteers. During this session we will provide information on ways to increase your professional network, how to get published, how to use AEA resources to find a job, and how to make the most of volunteering. This session is open only to student volunteers.

2. You may receive a discounted hotel room rate of $25 at the Silver Club. The Silver Club casino is across the street from the Nugget and the Silver Club Hotel is behind the casino. It requires a walk of approximately 1 block to get to the Nugget. Accommodations at the Silver Club are roughly equivalent to a Days Inn or Travelodge. 

To sign up to volunteer, send an email to Heidi Nye in the AEA office at Heidi@eval.org In your email, include:

1. Your first and second choice slots for volunteering. If you do not see a timeslot that meets your needs, we will try to work with you to create an appropriate volunteer opportunity. 

2. Your preferred orientation session.

3.At this time discounted hotel rooms are only available at the Silver Club

Within 2 working days, Heidi will confirm your volunteer slot and provide you with information on how to register for free or secure your discounted hotel room.

ORIENTATION: All volunteers, with the exception of those working shifts on Monday or Tuesday, who will be working at the registration desk, computer room, or at the job bank, must attend a 20-minute orientation meeting prior to their shift. Orientation sessions will be held at the following times:

A. Tuesday, November 4, from 7:30 pm to 7:50 pm
B. Wednesday, November 5,  from 6:10 pm to 6:30 pm 
C. Thursday, November 6, from 8:30 am to 8:50 am
D. Thursday, November 6, from 6:00 pm to 6:20 pm

STUDENT VOLUNTEER TIMESLOTS

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 3, 2003 (no orientation session needed)

1   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration  Samantha Smith (samantha@sabcar.unr.edu) 

2   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Pre-registration  Katherine McDonald (kmcdon3@uic.edu)

3   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  Kim Gibson (kimmg@uga.edu)

4   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  Laura Massell (Laura.Massell@uvm.edu)

5   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  Travis Brewer (doc2b64@yahoo.com)

6   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  ________________________________

7   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  Mark Escherich (Mark.Escherich@dhs.gov)

8   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  _____________________________

9   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup  Poh-Pheng Chua (pjc181@psu.edu)

10   4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup   Manny Woo (mwoo2000@neo.tamu.edu)

11  4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup   Rafael Monterde Díaz (rmonterd@dpi.upv.es)

12  4:00 pm to 9:00 pm  Setup   Mary Lou Carlson (mary_lou_carlson@hotmail.com)

 

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2003 (no orientation session needed)

13    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup  ____________________________

14    7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration/setup  ____________________________

15    7:30 am to 11:30 am Registration/setup   ____________________________

16    3:00 pm to 7:30 pm   Registration/setup   Cindy Casebeer (ccasebee@bamaed.ua.edu)

17    3:00 pm to 7:30 pm   Registration/setup   Michelle Chandrasekhar (mchand@oddl.fsu.edu)  

18  3:00 pm to 7:30 pm   Registration/setup   Silvia Montoya-Gomez (silvia.montoya-gomez@scccd.com)

19  3:00 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration/setup  Cady Berkel (Cady@uga.edu)

20  3:00 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration/setup   __________________________________

21  3:00 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration/setup  Stephanie Townsend (stownsen@uic.edu)

22  3:00 pm to 7:30 pm    Registration/setup  Liz McGough (emcgough@acsu.buffalo.edu)

23  4:00 pm to 8:00 pm    Photographer*  John Westover (johnwestover@comcast.net)

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2003 

24  7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Patty Emord (pattye@spinn.net)  

25  7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Richard Meldrum (melri@sinai.org)

26  7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Muhammed Liman (aedbes2@iway.na)

27   7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Mukaria Itangata (mukaria.itangata@wmich.edu)    

28   7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Adrienne Nimmer  (animmer@co.pulaski.ar.us)

29   7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration  ______________________________

29   7:00 am to 11:30 am  Registration Patrick A Serumola (pserumol@mailbox.syr.edu)

30  11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Isang Asuquo (icetee2k2@yahoo.com)

31   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Xiaofan Cai (xiaofan.cai@wmich.edu)

32   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Jonah Bassey (derek_op@yahoo.com)

33   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Roshni Menon  (roshni@email.arizona.edu)

34   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  ___________________________________

35   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Lindsay Gotshall (lgvalue@knology.net)

36   11:15 am to 3:30 pm  Registration  Nor Douglas (norita@mindspring.com)

37   12:00 pm to 5:00 pm  Registration  __________________________________

38   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration  Ebrima Nying (imgarba@hotmail.com)

39   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration  Hongyan Cui  (h.cui@wmich.edu)

40   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration    Amy Van Poperin (A.Vanpoperin@Bradford.ac.uk)

41   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration   __________________________________

42   3:15 pm to 7:00 pm    Registration  Shawn Morford (smorford@shaw.ca)

*  4:00pm to 8:00pm        Video Recorder     Sonja Poole (smartin4@uclink.berkeley.edu)

43  7:00 am to 11:30 am  Job Bank        Christina Hardy (christina@tanglewood.net)

44   7:00 am to 9:00 am      Computer Room     Lauren Kirkpatrick

45   9:00 am to 11:00 pm      Computer Room     Vanessa Jamieson

46   11:00 am to 1:00 pm      Computer Room    Avichal Jha

47   11:00 am to 3:30 pm  Job Bank   Ridish Pokarel  (pokhare1@msu.edu)    

48   1:00 am to 3:00 pm      Computer Room     James Griffin 

49   3:00 am to 5:00 pm      Computer Room  Katie Brockie

50   3:00 pm to 7:00 pm  Job Bank      Daniela Schroeter  (danischroeter@web.de)

51   5:00 pm to 6:30 pm  Computer Room     David Breihan

52   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Infofair Gopher  Heidi Ludeking (Ludeking@commonbond.org)

53   6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer  Randi Nelson (palmfam@comcast.net)

54   6:00 pm to 10:00 pm  Photographer's Assistant* _____________________________________

*The photographer's assistant does not need any photography skills. He/she will assist in getting releases from those whose pictures are taken, and assist in the printing and display of the pictures.

 

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 6, 2003

55     7:00am to 11:00 am        Registration Sherri Bisset (sherri.l.bisset@umontreal.ca)

56     7:30 am to 11:30 am       Registration  Stacy Rafter (lsrafter@earthlink.net)

57     7:30 am to 11:30 am       Registration  Joyce Lee   (lee84@uiuc.edu)

58     7:30 am to 11:30 am      Registration   Boris Volkov (volk0057@umn.edu)

59     7:30 am to 11:30 am     Registration  Susan Zelt (scz2001@columbia.edu)  

60    11:00 am to 3:00 pm      Registration    Xuejin Lu (xuejin8@yahoo.com

61    11:00 am to 3:00 pm      Registration  Gillian Mason (gmason2@uic.edu)

62     2:00 pm to 6:00 pm       Registration    Stephanie Beard (sbeard1@uic.edu)

63     2:00 pm to 6:00 pm       Registration    April Howard (ahowar1@uic.edu)

64     7:30 am to 10:30 pm       Computer Room       Linda Tem

65     7:30 am to 11:30 pm       Job Bank    Yi Ni (yn5r@cms.mail.virginia.edu)

66    10:30 pm to 12:30 pm       Computer Room     Katie Winters

67     11:00 am to 3:00 pm  Job Bank       John Risley (john.risley@wmich.edu)

68     11:00 am to 3:00 pm   Job Bank    Hamida Jinnah (hamida@uga.edu)

69    12:30 pm to 2:30 pm       Computer Room  Rochelle Estanisalo 

70    2:30 pm to 4:30 pm       Computer Room     Amy Ward

71     2:00 pm to 6:00 pm       Job Bank     Francesca Wright (cescaw@earthlink .net)

72 4:30 pm to 5:30 pm       Computer Room Nicole Ortega

73     4:30 pm to 8:30 pm  Poster Gopher* Winnie Kwok (wkwok@ucsd.edu)

*This person assists with the setup and execution of the poster exhibition.

 

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2003    

74   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Jenna Watling (jwatli1@uic.edu)

75   7:30 am to 11:30 am  Registration  Donna Podems (smedgen@yahoo.com)

76  11:15 am to 3:15 pm  Registration  Andre Dailey (adailey@communityresearchpartners.org)

77  11:15 am to 3:15 pm  Registration  Amir Langroudi (amirslangroudi@yahoo.com)

78  11:15 am to 3:15 pm  Registration  Treena Delormier (treena@kamouflage.com)

79   7:30 am to 10:30 am        Computer Room    Rachel Ross (rachel.ross@cgu.edu)

80   7:30 am to 11:30 am      Job Bank    Christina Kakoyannis (christina.kakoyannis@orst.edu)

81  10:30 am to 1:30 am        Computer Room   Bianca Montrosse

82   11:00 am to 3:00 pm      Job Bank    Sandy Taut (S.Taut@unesco.org)

83   2:00 pm to 6:00 pm        Job Bank    ____________________________

85   3:30 am to 5:30 am        Computer Room    Alana Pontrelli

86   4:30 pm to 8:30 pm   Auction Gopher   Thomaz Chianca (thomaz@acd.ufrj.br)   

 

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2003

87  7:30 am to 9:30 am  Computer Room  Jody Kierman

88  7:30 am to 12:00 pm  Registration  Barry Brahier (brah0002@umn.edu)

89  7:30 am to 12:00 pm  Job Bank   Melanie  Sala-Friedrichs (melsco1160@aol.com)

90  7:30 am to 12:00 pm  Job Bank    John Smith (smith144@maroon.tc.umn.edu)

*  8:00am to 12:00pm     Video Recorder   Bobbie Bentz (bobbi-bentz@uiowa.edu)

91  2:00 pm to 6:00 pm      Registration   Cecily Darden (cdarden@air.org)

 

SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 9, 2003

92  8:00 am to 12:00 pm  Registration  Diana Bernbaum (djbernbaum@yahoo.com)

OTHERS

Assist at Board Meeting   Vicki Staebler Tardino   (Vicki_Tardino@alumni.umass.edu)

Coordinate Information Fair   Gwen Willems  (wille002@umn.edu)

Assist with Job Bank Coordination  Stephen Axelrad   (axelrads@SLU.EDU)

Provide Volunteer Orientations  Kara Davis (kdavis74@ucla.edu

 

DISCOUNTED REGISTRATION: Full time students receive a discount of over 50% on conference registration. Students who register and pay before October 1 pay $60 and those registering after October 1 and on-site will pay $70. This is compared to rates of $135 and $175 for full members. Full time student also receive significant discounts on the professional development workshops that precede and follow the conference. Click here to see a full table of conference-registration fees.

STUDENT EVALUATORS:  Each year, a team of students conducts the conference evaluation. A stipend of up to $5000 is available to the team to reimburse travel expenses as well as expenses associated with the evaluation. The team is selected competitively from among those replying to an RFP and the deadline for response was April 1, 2003. The team has already been selected for 2003, but if you wish to see the submission guidelines, click here to review the full request for proposals.

AEA STUDENT TRAVEL SCHOLARSHIPS: We are pleased to offer the most extensive travel award program ever for the American Evaluation Association thanks to the generosity of donations from The Evaluators’ Institute and professional development speaker’s fees. The Association awards two types of student travel scholarships, each with its own criteria and submission process.  

Type I Awards - Deadline May 1, 2003: Up to ten $500 travel awards will be awarded to winners of a contest that seeks to identify the student performers in our midst. These scholarships are open to all full-time graduate students. Winners must present their work at the beginning of Presidential Strand sessions at the 2003 conference.

The Application and Submission Process for Type I Awards: Students should prepare an original monologue, song, or poem about evaluation methodology (the theme of the 2003 Presidential Strand). These should be no more than 3 minutes in length (shorter is fine) when presented. The work should be submitted by May 1, 2003 in two formats: a written version and a spoken version recorded on a cassette or video tape. The spoken version should be presented as you would intend to perform the work at the conference. Submissions may be humorous or serious. Each will be judged on its capacity to entertain and inform as well as its relationship to the conference theme of methodology.

Submissions should be sent via mail (not electronically) so that they arrive by May 1, 2003 to: AEA, 16 Sconticut Neck Rd #290, Fairhaven MA 02719. Please include a) your full contact information including the school at which you are enrolled full time, b) the written work headed by a line stating: “Submission for Type I Travel Award”, and c) the cassette or video tape with your name written on the tape.

Type II Awards - Deadline March 14, 2003: Up to five $500 travel awards are available to students identifying ways to increase the racial/ethnic diversity of people entering the field of evaluation and/or ways to increase the multicultural competencies of all evaluators. All students may compete for these scholarships; however, given AEA's Building Diversity Initiative, special consideration will be given to students who themselves will increase the racial/ethnic diversity of presenters at the conference. Winning proposals will be presented during a special session sponsored by the Minority Issues TIG. Proposals that do not win will be reviewed as part of the general pool of proposal submissions.

The Submission Process for Type II Awards:  1. Send an emailed cover letter to Ivy Jones Turner at i.turner@verizon.net. In the body of your email, note “Submission for Type II Student Travel Awards” and indicate your racial or ethnic background, and the title of the proposal you intend to submit. If you do not have email, mail to: Ivy Jones Turner, 27 Homestead St, Boston MA 02121-1405. If submitting via landmail, please call to confirm receipt of your submission at 617-541-0568. 2. Submit the proposal itself by the March 14 deadline using the regular conference proposal submission guidelines. Select “Minority Issues TIG” as the group to review your proposal. Only proposals that focus on the issues stated above will be considered.